Ubuntu: Can I suppress the last-minute 'writing to disk' dialogue when umounting? (bash script)



Question:

I have a bash script that will copy files over to drives upon insertion and then unmount. The actual copy line is simple:

cp $SRCDIR/$FILE $DRIVE  

and the umount:

umount $DRIVE  

However, once cp is done and umount is presented, the filesystem still has to finish the job and I'm presented with this:

dialogue

Now, this script for when I need to copy the same files to around 500 usb drives via a 10 usb hub. I already have my own way to notify me which drive needs to be ejected when, and having a million popup windows is very annoying. Apart from sending a 'sleep 5s' command (which really wouldn't be too bad), is there a way that I can suppress these messages?


Solution:1

Run the sync command before unmounting.


Note:If u also have question or solution just comment us below or mail us on toontricks1994@gmail.com
Previous
Next Post »