Ubuntu: Can I automatically purge every package I've ever uninstalled?



Question:

As an Ubuntu noob, I install and uninstall a lot of packages, to try them out. However, for months, I made the mistake of using apt-get remove instead of apt-get purge, which I didn't even realize exists.

Is there a way to cause apt-get to purge every package I've uninstalled? My system is full of leftover files I neither want or need from dozens of different packages.


Solution:1

A simpler alternative, using aptitude (not installed by default)

sudo aptitude purge '~c'  

~c is an aptitude search pattern, it means 'Select packages that were removed but not purged'. (The single quotes are to prevent the possible expansion of ~c by the shell as the home directory of a user c.)

Note that purging will remove system configuration files, usually located in /etc, but personal configuration files, usually in some hidden directory in your home, are not removed (it is not always simple to know which they are).


Solution:2

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AptGet/Howto says:

dpkg -l | grep '^rc' | awk '{print $2}' | xargs dpkg --purge  


Solution:3

those two will clean your packages, but you should get in the habit of using this,

sudo apt-get remove --purge <package name>  

that will purge the packages.

also check this out, this an utility called ubuntu-tweak, it has a feature that is called janitor, that lets you see the packages to clean, and even the configs. http://www.howtogeek.com/112974/how-to-customize-ubuntu-with-ubuntu-tweak/


Solution:4

I use Ubuntu-Tweak to do this job.

  1. Install Ubuntu tweak

  2. Open it by typing "Ubuntu-tweak" in the dash. To open dash, press Super key.

    Ubuntu tweak in dash

  3. Go to the janitor tab, Click on the Package Configs in the left bar, then put a Tick mark at the right section of window and then click the Clean button. This will ask administrative password, give it and wait for a while....... Your system is clean from old configs.

    cleaning in ubuntu tweak


Solution:5

As an alternative to the other answers, you can remove any leftover configuration files by using the BleachBit utility (click to install).


Note:If u also have question or solution just comment us below or mail us on toontricks1994@gmail.com
Previous
Next Post »